Keyglove Forums
WhizzWr

Autodesk Inventor COM API

I definitely do intend to release the source code, though it's not finalized yet (actually I haven't been back to it in a while). The original source for what I ended up with is available here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor-Customization/Imitating-Full-Navigation-Wheel-orbit-pan-zoom-through-COM-API/m-p/3593926#M39544

That forum member was immensely helpful. You're welcome to the code from there for now at least.

Whoa, big thanks!

I'll see what can I do with it. Of course I'm going to open-source my code if I think my changes are good enough.

That's said I'm not a pro coder in any sense though, most likely it's going to take a while and I ended up with messy code. Haha

hint: it's for capstone project

Jeff,

I just started looking into the code.

If you don't mind I have a few questions:

• What exactly are gyroX, gyroY and gyroZ? are they simply the Euler angle of roll, yaw and pitch?
  • I'll just assume you used serial communication to send the IMU readings, but what serial listener are you using in Inventor Add-in and how do you store the buffers?

I'm aware there is IO.Ports.SerialPort in Vb, but I'm eager to know what implementation you do use..

Thanks!

Edit: Just found keyglove has its own Github repo (http://github.com/jrowberg/keyglove), the answer to question #1 must be somewhere on the repo.

The repo doesn't have the Autodesk plugin code yet, but it does have the device side of the serial data. The gyroX/Y/Z values are scaled but otherwise raw measurements from the digital motion sensor. They are (ideally) zero when you aren't rotating your hand, and then go non-zero when you start rotating. Linear acceleration should have no effect--only rotation.

Jeff, thanks for replying.  :)

The gyroX/Y/Z values are scaled but otherwise raw measurements from the digital motion sensor.