Keyglove Forums
Fradow

Trying to build one: questions

Hello,

I got into electronics (background as a software dev) recently, and I decided to try to build a KeyGlove. I'm quite new to Arduino, so bear with me please :)

Here are the few questions I can't find answer on the website and repo's docs:

- I tried following instructions, the code compiles fine (after a modification to MPU6050 lib), but Teensy doesn't automatically reboot. So I did it, and then .... nothing happens. I tried USB Type Keyboard + Mouse + Joystick at 8Mhz, and then connect B6 to F6 (DY motion, for key A, if I read the docs correctly), but nothing happens : no A letter on my opened app, and nothing on Arduino's serial monitor, even after putting some Serial.print in application.cpp. Is there something wrong or did I miss something? More generally, how do you debug? I may lack a bit too much in Arduino knowledge, will try to learn too.

- what's the reason for 3.3V instead of 5V? I didn't modify my Teensy yet, because I would really like to understand why it's needed first

- even after looking at the docs, I have little clue about how each port of the Teensy is configured: which one is an Input, which one is an Output? How does the KeyGlove recognize which 2 pins are connected? I guess there is a link as to why the 3 Pins on the thumb are PWM pins

Thanks a lot, keep up ;)

Hello,

Welcome to the field! Mixing code and hardware is tons of fun. (Also, sometimes complicated and difficult.)