Keyglove Forums
mystd

VR getting really popular

Since HMDs are getting very popular and there are already dozens of HMDs. I bought myself a Durovis Dive for starters and of course the first thing that comes to my mind is the keyglove. But the keyglove lacks one thing and that is flex sensors. (www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlh4eSMFAIA) (www.cwonline.com/store/view_product.asp?Product=1179) The keygloves motion sensors are still lacking too T_T. I really wish I had studied electronics I really want a keyglove with motiontracking and felexsensors like the p5 glove now XD

Is there any way to speed up development of the keyglove? Is there something we can do to help? I'm willing to donate money but I doubt that's the issue. I've got a lot of time and I'm getting more and more into electronics but I'm pretty much a beginner. Is there anything I can do even though I'm a beginner? I'm currently doing my led plant light project but after that I'll probably be building a keyglove and try to add flexsensors to it.

Adding flex sensors is one way to quickly increase the amount of usable data that the glove can process and respond to. I have a set of 5x flex sensors for prototyping in the future, and it's been on the Keyglove roadmap for quite some time as well--I just haven't gotten to a point where I can add them in. Part of the problem with the flex sensors in particular is that they require either an extra external SPI/I2C ADC device, or else five extra ADC connections directly into the MCU. Once I switch to the ATSAM3X8E, this won't be an issue, but it's still a bit of a challenge with the Teensy++, where I'm pretty strapped for pins.

I'll also need to add API methods for working with the flex data, but that is relatively simple now that the codebase is so completely rewritten to support that kind of feature addition.